On Sunday, the third day of competition at the 2024 Para Athletics World Championship, Indian athletes proved their mettle. Nishad Kumar won a silver medal, while Preethi Pal took home a bronze. With a season-best mark of 1.99 metres, Nishad Kumar won the silver medal in the Men’s High Jump T47 final, sparking India’s victory.

Preethi Pal added to India’s achievements on Day 3 of the competition when she won a bronze medal in the women’s 200m T35 division, bringing the country’s total of medals to two.

With an outstanding timing of 56.18 seconds in the heats on Sunday, Deepthi Jeevanji has advanced to the Women’s 400m T20 final and will hopefully bring home another medal for India on Monday.

In the meantime, Sabrina Fortune of Britain won the gold medal on Sunday after shattering the world record in the women’s shot put F20.

At the Universiade Memorial Stadium in the central Japanese port city, the 23-year-old athlete broke the previous world record with a shot put throw of 14.73 metres on her sixth try, after breaking the record with a throw of 14.56 metres on her second turn.

Poleth Isamar Mendes Sanchez of Ecuador won the silver medal with a season-best time of 13.90 metres.

First staged in East Asia, the Kobe 2024 Para Athletics World Championships are an essential qualification event for the Paris 2024 Paralympic Games. More than a thousand competitors from 100 different nations and areas have travelled to the championships to compete in 168 different events for titles.

The COVID-19 epidemic caused two postponements to the original 2021 schedule of the nine-day finals, which end on May 25.

On Sunday, the third day of competition, China collected four gold medals overall, taking an early lead in the medal count.

China’s Zou Lijuan successfully defended her global title in the women’s javelin throw F34 final, throwing a championship record of 21.22 metres. Her countrymate Zuo Caiyun took home silver with a seasonal best of 17.75 metres.

Another current world champion, Chinese para thrower Yao Juan, won the women’s discus throw F64 final with a season-best throw of 43.09 metres, according to Xinhua.

During the day, Chinese racers put in no shortage of effort, even in the bad conditions. Wheelchair racer Zhou Hongzhuan won gold in the women’s 800m T53 final, setting a new personal best time of 1:56.54, but Zhou Xia kept her world championship in the women’s 200m T35 final with a seasonal best of 29.45 seconds.

Gao Fang, Zhou Zhaoqian, Liu Cuiqing, and Guo Qianqian were among the other medallists for China on Sunday. They won silver in the 800m T53, 800m T54, 400m T11, and 200m T35 women’s finals, respectively.

Topics #Indians win #Nishad Kumar #Para Athletics #win medals #World Championship