A squad of fifteen players, led by Scott Edwards, has been announced by the Netherlands for the 2024 T20 World Cup.

For the T20 World Cup, leading batsman Colin Ackermann and seasoned all-rounder Roel of van der Merwe were not available for selection. Instead, the Dutch have selected Michael Levitt, the explosive opener, and Tim Pringle, a promising left-arm spinner. Levitt won a T20I tri-series in Nepal recently with a scorching 125 off 62 balls, which included 10 sixes and 11 fours.

Bas de Leede, Wesley Barresi, Logan van Beek, and other standout players will be among the team’s many stars, while wicketkeeper batter Edwards will lead them as in the previous edition.

“We have put together a squad that is well-rounded and we are optimistic that it will perform well under the circumstances against the opposition we face in the US and the West Indies,” stated head coach Ryan Cook.

“Everyone who has been training hard has participated in the recent ProSeries, putting on some amazing displays that demonstrate the increasing caliber and depth of Dutch cricket.” We are going to motivated to overcome the obstacles in our way to move on to the next phase of the competition, having performed well in the last two World Cups in which we have taken part.

In addition to South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Nepal, the Netherlands is assigned to Group D. June 4 at Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas is when they will begin from their campaign against Nepal.

The Dutch are going to take a great deal of inspiration from their upset victories over South Africa in the last two World Cups: first in the 2022 T20 World Cup, where they eliminated South Africa in the Super 12 round, and second in the 2023 ODI World Cup, where Edwards emerged victorious with 78 not out in a rain-shortened match.

Topics #Ackermann #Bat Ball #cricket #Netherlands #news #player #Scott Edwards #Van Der Merwe