The Australian team for the World Test Championship final match against India, set for June 7–11 at The Oval, omitted Mitchell Marsh and Matthew Renshaw. Teams are required to submit 15-member squads as a rule, although Australia had named a 17-man visiting party for the Ashes series that comes after the WTC championship. Marsh and Renshaw are thereby eliminated from consideration for the summit confrontation.

Marcus Harris continues to be the top backup for the opening places, as seen by Renshaw’s absence from the WTC team. Additionally, it is a comfort for David Warner, who has struggled to score runs in recent red-ball situations. Given the veteran opener’s previous records in England, he is bound to face an acid test this time around but head coach Andrew McDonald came out in strong support of the left-hander.

Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, and David Warner are the members of Australia’s squad for the ICC World Test Championship final.


Topics #australia #captain #members #scottboland #squad #strong #travis